July 14, 2013

The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson



Publisher's summary: The third book in Rae Carson's award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy. Elisa, the seventeen-year-old sorcerer-queen, will travel into an unknown enemy's realm to win back her true love, save her kingdom, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny. Veronica Roth called The Girl of Fire and Thorns "intense, unique . . . definitely recommended."

Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce and George R. R. Martin's style of sweeping and deeply satisfying epic fantasy, the third and final book in the trilogy takes the young queen on a journey more dangerous than any she has faced before. Elisa will stand before the gate of the enemy. And she must rise up as champion—even to those who have hated her—or her kingdom will fall. Full of sorcery, adventure, sizzling romance, and secrets that challenge everything she believes, this is a bold and powerful conclusion to an extraordinary trilogy. As USAToday.com proclaimed, "Rae Carson has proved she's a master and has shaken up the YA genre."

My take: I’m totally blown away and in complete and utter awe with what Rae Carson has accomplished in The Bitter Kingdom! There was so much that happened in this story that it’s hard to believe that it all happened in just one book!

I’ve done a lot of thinking when it comes to Elisa’s character. OMG! She has changed so much from that first scene in the first book (The Girl of Fire and Thorns) when she’s getting herself ready for her wedding. She’s now so much more independent, confident and way more calculating than she has ever been before. And she handles every situation throughout this book perfectly.

I didn’t really have many expectations for this book because the characters and world Rae Carson has created are so completely unique and, after she killed off some pretty important characters in the first book, I went in with only one expectation, and I’m pretty freakin’ thrilled with the way the story turned out.

I think my favorite character in this book is a new character that is introduced pretty early on in the story. She plays such an important role throughout the story, and adds some fun spice as well, that I just loved, loved, loved it!

I’m sad to see this series go, but I don’t think the series could have had a better ending than the ending in The Bitter Kingdom.


3 comments:

Lola Reading said...

So excited to read this one! Great review! :)

Natalie Aguirre said...

So excited to read this. I have an ARC on my Nook waiting to be read. You've got me SO excited to read it. Thanks.

Julie@My5monkeys said...

I agree that this series is amazing :)

Post a Comment

Hi *waves* I ♥ me some comments! So comment away...

Dear followers, fans and peeps! Some of the books I review on Magical Urban Fantasy Reads are provided to me for free by either the publisher or author in exchange for my honest review. Please know that I am in NO WAY compensated for my reviews. All opinions are mine and I am not required to give a positive review in exchange for a free book! But some of the purchase links on my blog are monetized through places like Amazon, Book Depository or Barnes & Noble.